wisdomfromthesisterhood

The Sisterhood is a place to bring your cup of coffee to. Heck, bring the whole pot :). Sit down, relax, and fall in for a while. No divas or meanies allowed. It's about boy brain, kiddos, food, one crazy labrador, autism and a cat in recovery from a back tire incident. Oh the places you'll go :)

Reasons to Love Autism: Moment # 53

on September 17, 2012

So, a few weeks ago the kids and I went to to the mall to buy new clothes for back to school…simple, right?  Oy Vey…I thought so too.  But, with a fifteen year old, a twelve year old and a ten year old, well, you never really know what might come up.

It was all going pretty darn well according to mom-standards when we pushed our luck and went into the Vans shoe store.  The ten year old wore out four pairs last school year so finding two was easy for him.  He is ALL boy, as rough and tumble as they come, and picking out two was a breeze for him.  He had his two picked out in less than a minute.  Teal with red laces and red with black laces.  Easy-peasy-lemon-squeezy.  He is my picky guy so I thought I was home free with his quick choices.

I was absolutely bowled over by what happened next.

It’s funny how autism and a different view of life can totally sneak up on you.  I love these moments but they never cease to catch me by surprise.  I never see them coming.

Mom: Hey, buddy, what color shoes do you think you want?

Buddy: Naw, I’m good.

Mom:  What?  No Vans?

Buddy: Naw, I don’t want any.

Mom: Really?  They’re pretty cool.

Buddy: Yeah, see, that’s the problem.

Mom: It’s a problem for them to be cool?

Buddy: Yeah, cause every day people are telling me how cool my shoes are. “Hey, cool shoes,” or “Hey, I really like your shoes.” I mean they do it all the time.  They’re always talking to me about my shoes!  It can really start to bug a guy, you know?

Mom:  Really?  They’re too cool to wear?  People like them too much?

Buddy:  Yep, it bugs me, Mom.  I just want them to stop.

At this point, when I have all but given up on him getting new shoes, the nice sales guy walks up with a lovely pair of gray Vans and tells my son, “You’ll like these.  They’re the plainest pair we have.  NO one will EVER notice them.”

And, with that, my oldest boy smiled and said, “You’re right.  Those are pretty plain.  Okay.  I’ll take that one.”  And he did.  That day we took home the teal pair, the red pair, the plain gray pair and one happy boy content with the gray pair that would not be on anyone’s radar.  And, they all took home a mom that was just a little wiser than when she stepped into the store because, truly, my kids keep teaching me new stuff every day.  I don’t know what I’ll do if they decide to stop educating me on the finer points of parenting!

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Three Boys and a Mom

Life is crazy, messy and absolutely beautiful!

Relief Teaching Ideas

Sharing ideas to help make relief teaching fun, enjoyable, and meaningful.

The Moronta Journal

Messages from Mexico City...

a little bit about a lot of things

a positive outlook on life's little things

Outmanned

A collection of essays from Mary Widdicks: writer, humorist, novelist, and former psychologist who can't remember if she fed all her kids this morning.

An Autism Diary

A day in the life of David Hartley

wellfesto

hacking health, designing life

The Status Woe

Rising above mediocrity one mishap at a time

Squarehead Teachers

Free teacher stuff to get your elementary classroom all SQUARED away!

sarahmcsimmons.com

Living Life One Meal at a time!

myaspiewife

Tales & Reflections of an NT (Neuro-Typical) Husband of an Aspergirl, An NT's Perspective on Autism & Marraige

Kentuckyguard.com

Unbridled Service

Little by Listen

Breakin' it down one tune at a time

The Funky Behavior

I blog to Express not to Impress

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

Tony Forcucci

A World Traveler's Photographic Travelogue

ANTHIDOTE

ONLY THE GOOD STUFF

Run5kaday's Blog

Daily distance running adrenaline!

My thoughts on a page.

Living, Laughing, Loving, Loathing.

