wisdomfromthesisterhood

The Sisterhood is a place to bring your cup of coffee to. Heck, bring the whole pot :). Sit down, relax, and fall in for a while. No divas or meanies allowed. It's about boy brain, kiddos, food, one crazy labrador, autism and a cat in recovery from a back tire incident. Oh the places you'll go :)

Running: The Upside of Anxieties and Insecurities…

on September 20, 2012

I will admit anxieties and insecurities are mostly bad.  They are not good character traits, they are not helpful, they do not make my day better and yet, the reality it, they live in me and they move me.  They are part of my day-to-day and while most of the time they do not paralyze me, they do have a way of steering my choices.

I know this, I accept that I am not free of them and, in general I have overcompensated enough with friendliness to keep them from completely overtaking my life and leaving me a crumpled mess under the quilts on my bed.  I will not hide from the world in complete retreat but I have found ways to tweak my existence so that the anxieties and insecurities in me can find a way to coexist in my life.

That is why I run at 5 a.m.  In case you didn’t know (because you sleep through the darkness until morning light)  the world is not awake at 5 a.m.  A few scattered souls appear during my dark running hours but I will emphasize very few.  I see a few lights on in kitchens and a few trucks on the road but, mostly, it’s just me, the cats and the frogs outside on the road.  I am used to it, I like the quiet and I am quickly discovering there is an entire world of animals that enjoy a whole lot of excitement during the dark hours when the people are gone.

Today, the anxieties and insecurities paid off in spades!

I am used to the cats on the road.  They used to scatter when they heard me hobbling and scuffling about on my morning walk.  They have come to accept that I may be an over sized animal of sorts and, happily, they no longer scatter when they hear me coming.  I used to take it personally that I scared them all.  Now they continue their naps on the sidewalk, they sit and watch me go by and there is one black one that will even come out into the street to say hello.

Today, I heard a rustle in the bushes.

Noises, at 5 a.m. and in the dark, always get my attention.  I may like my cover of darkness for running but, for safety reasons, noises just freak me out.  I was relieved to see when the fluffy Siamese that lives on the next corner walked out and stood in the grass.  He did not run which made me smile.  I stopped my forward motion, jogged in place for a moment and said hello to the neighborhood cat.  I appreciated that he no longer ran from me and I wanted him to know.

I stood there talking to the cat and jogging in place and this crazy thing happened.  My eyes began to focus.  I was less than two minutes into my run and just eight houses away from my own when my aging and fuzzy eyes began to focus a bit more.  As I stood talking to the Siamese cat, I realized it wasn’t a cat at all.

It was a baby fox!

Wowza….I continued to talk to him and he continued to listen and we both just stared.  It was a HOOT.  He was fresh, fluffy and really quite pretty and I realized, my insecurities and anxieties brought me to him.  Had I been “all that”, secure and completely confident, I would never have found my little fox.

My dark hours serve an obvious purpose in that they let my jiggle and struggle and gasp under the cover of darkness where I am hardly noticed.  Today, my own personal insecurities and anxieties led me to this really great moment that I would not have experienced if I were super secure and well adjusted and I appreciate what the weakness led me to.  Yes, I struggle, yes I am imperfection personified, yes I am a lousy runner but, despite all the imperfections, goodness reared its head and shared with me a truly cool moment.  Now, had I been younger and had my eyes still lived with better vision, I might have enjoyed the moment for longer but, because of my fading eyes, I had a WOWZA moment that perfect and immediate focus would not have allowed me to experience.  Life is good.  The good and the not so perfect all mingle together for goodness and I loved my little fox.

With eight more houses left in my running goal and two more miles to walk, I said good bye to the little guy and stumbled back into a sort-of-run.  It occurred to me as I got my slow pace back that a big smile and renewed spirit sure can help boost your pace.  I ended up counting twenty eight houses straight that I ran past this morning without walking.  It was more houses than my goal and, with the smile plastered across my face, I hardly felt it.

If the fox is out tomorrow, I think I could even run fifty houses straight!  Who knows?  Inspiration can do crazy things :).

 

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Three Boys and a Mom

Life is crazy, messy and absolutely beautiful!

Relief Teaching Ideas

Sharing ideas to help make relief teaching fun, enjoyable, and meaningful.

The Moronta Journal

Messages from Mexico City...

a little bit about a lot of things

a positive outlook on life's little things

Outmanned

A collection of essays from Mary Widdicks: writer, humorist, novelist, and former psychologist who can't remember if she fed all her kids this morning.

An Autism Diary

A day in the life of David Hartley

wellfesto

hacking health, designing life

The Status Woe

Rising above mediocrity one mishap at a time

Squarehead Teachers

Free teacher stuff to get your elementary classroom all SQUARED away!

sarahmcsimmons.com

Living Life One Meal at a time!

myaspiewife

Tales & Reflections of an NT (Neuro-Typical) Husband of an Aspergirl, An NT's Perspective on Autism & Marraige

Kentuckyguard.com

Unbridled Service

Little by Listen

Breakin' it down one tune at a time

The Funky Behavior

I blog to Express not to Impress

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

Tony Forcucci

A World Traveler's Photographic Travelogue

ANTHIDOTE

ONLY THE GOOD STUFF

Run5kaday's Blog

Daily distance running adrenaline!

My thoughts on a page.

Living, Laughing, Loving, Loathing.

