wisdomfromthesisterhood

The Sisterhood is a place to bring your cup of coffee to. Heck, bring the whole pot :). Sit down, relax, and fall in for a while. No divas or meanies allowed. It's about boy brain, kiddos, food, one crazy labrador, autism and a cat in recovery from a back tire incident. Oh the places you'll go :)

Reasons to Love Autism: Moment #26

on September 24, 2012

Sometimes, it really is all about how you choose to view life and with what perspective you view what is happening.  We had just such a morning in my house last week.  A day when it became very clear that how you choose to see the world affects who you are and a bright perspective will absolutely brighten your day.

Yesterday morning was just a morning and it was like any other morning.  Three kids, one dog and one cat to wake, feed and situate for the day.  The kids obviously need more care than the dog and the cat so I started earlier with them.  Our breakfast request for the day was waffles and bacon so I started my morning mixing batter and frying the bacon while kids were still sleeping.

It didn’t take long for the smell in the air to bring children to the breakfast counter and by the time I had my first waffle ready, I also had my middle child waiting for a plate.  And, as usual, he put in his regular request for some red juice…it happens to be cran-pomegranate but the flavor is not what makes this story great.

The beauty in my morning came when my middle child, who happens to be my spectrum child as well, unexpectedly spilled his juice across the kitchen counter, down through the breakfast chairs with a spraying splash onto the white tiled floor.  After apologizing immensely with many rounds of “I’m sorry”, he kept eating and I ran for a mop.  At the same time, I started running some hot water knowing I would need something strong to cut through the sticky and get it up permanently from the floor.

Waiting for the sink to fill, I nervously began watching the dog who although was trying to clean up the juice was also walking in the middle of the red sticky and was spreading her red sticky paws about the floor.  In my “mom” mind, I could see red sticky paw prints almost EVERYWHERE so I quickly moved the chairs out of the way and turned on more kitchen light so I could better see the red sticky.

Just then, as I am quickening my game plan so as to lessen the red sticky about the house, my boy says to me, “Wow, mom, look at the red sparkles on the floor!”  His voice is excited and his face is smiling so I look at where he is pointing and ..sure enough…he is absolutely right.  The floor is colorful and sparkling beautifully with all the red juice on the tile.  If I looked at it through his eyes…it was gorgeous and sparkling in the kitchen light.  What a boy.

In my mom mind, all I saw was red sticky getting ready to travel unkindly around the floors of the house by way of the dog paws but, my son, my twelve year old wonder, was able to once again show me life through his eyes and open my “mom” eyes to a more beautiful perspective.  Yeah, there’s going to be bad but he reminded me it’s important, even in the midst of the muck and the thing you have feared, to find the good, to see the sparkle, to appreciate the goodness twisted up in the bad.

Love that boy.  Life truly is about how you choose to see it.  Thanks to him, I am seeing life in a brighter shade of red sparkles :)!

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Three Boys and a Mom

Life is crazy, messy and absolutely beautiful!

Relief Teaching Ideas

Sharing ideas to help make relief teaching fun, enjoyable, and meaningful.

The Moronta Journal

Messages from Mexico City...

a little bit about a lot of things

a positive outlook on life's little things

Outmanned

A collection of essays from Mary Widdicks: writer, humorist, novelist, and former psychologist who can't remember if she fed all her kids this morning.

An Autism Diary

A day in the life of David Hartley

wellfesto

hacking health, designing life

The Status Woe

Rising above mediocrity one mishap at a time

Squarehead Teachers

Free teacher stuff to get your elementary classroom all SQUARED away!

sarahmcsimmons.com

Living Life One Meal at a time!

myaspiewife

Tales & Reflections of an NT (Neuro-Typical) Husband of an Aspergirl, An NT's Perspective on Autism & Marraige

Kentuckyguard.com

Unbridled Service

Little by Listen

Breakin' it down one tune at a time

The Funky Behavior

I blog to Express not to Impress

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

Tony Forcucci

A World Traveler's Photographic Travelogue

ANTHIDOTE

ONLY THE GOOD STUFF

Run5kaday's Blog

Daily distance running adrenaline!

My thoughts on a page.

Living, Laughing, Loving, Loathing.

