wisdomfromthesisterhood

The Sisterhood is a place to bring your cup of coffee to. Heck, bring the whole pot :). Sit down, relax, and fall in for a while. No divas or meanies allowed. It's about boy brain, kiddos, food, one crazy labrador, autism and a cat in recovery from a back tire incident. Oh the places you'll go :)

The Oy Vey Moments….AKA: The Sucker Punch

on September 24, 2012

They happen more often than you’d think.  Or maybe just more often than I am prepared for.  Those moments when the kids say something that is the equivalent to an emotional sucker punch but, as parents, you have to keep your composure.  As parents, you can’t let them see you sweat.

I am getting older.  I get that and I am okie dokie with it.  I am not pulling my hair out, I am not botoxing, I am not making appointments for facials, I am not pushing anything up or boosting anything else.  I am okay with me….age and all.  It just is what it is.  I did not have my children right out of high school.  I waited.  I went to college first and then I played the working game for a while.  I had my first just before I turned thirty and I have never thought I was too old.

Lately, I can feel the creaks in my bones a bit more.  I can see my gray if I put my reading glasses on and there was that moment when I was out walking and I mistook the cat for a fox but, in my own defense, I will say it was dark out too.

So, today, this afternoon after my kiddos have come home, I should not have taken it as such a sucker punch but I did.  He was being a boy, using his ten year old boy brain, and the oy vey moment was so pronounced all I could do was gather my breath and move on.

It went like this:

Little Man: Hey, Mom, I read this book today. (which is a great line to tell mom since he was the one who had the hardest time learning to read.  He used to carry a book around just to be ‘seen’ with the book even though he could not read)

Mom: What was it about?

Little Man: Well, you see, there’s this shark attack survivor and it takes place in 1916.

And, then he stops and the wheels start to turn.  For a moment he is silent as he ponders.  And, being the seasoned mom that I am I should have braced myself.  I should have been able to see it in his eyes before it ever made its way out of his mouth.  I should have but I didn’t. I didn’t see it all until I heard it hit the air.

Continuing, he says…

Little Man: Mom, how old were you in 1916? (and he says it with the kind of innocence that means no one any harm.  Kid naivete is what saved him.  It might not have gone so well for the 15 year old.  And, while I am catching my breath, my fifteen year old, who gets how all of this works more than the ten year old, says, “How old did he just call you? Did he call you 96?”

Ugghhhhh…..and that, my friends, is the sucker punch of parenting.  No ill intentions and yet an Oy Vey moment nonetheless.  I hope your day is much more sucker punchless than mine :).

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Three Boys and a Mom

Life is crazy, messy and absolutely beautiful!

Relief Teaching Ideas

Sharing ideas to help make relief teaching fun, enjoyable, and meaningful.

The Moronta Journal

Messages from Mexico City...

a little bit about a lot of things

a positive outlook on life's little things

Outmanned

A collection of essays from Mary Widdicks: writer, humorist, novelist, and former psychologist who can't remember if she fed all her kids this morning.

An Autism Diary

A day in the life of David Hartley

wellfesto

hacking health, designing life

The Status Woe

Rising above mediocrity one mishap at a time

Squarehead Teachers

Free teacher stuff to get your elementary classroom all SQUARED away!

sarahmcsimmons.com

Living Life One Meal at a time!

myaspiewife

Tales & Reflections of an NT (Neuro-Typical) Husband of an Aspergirl, An NT's Perspective on Autism & Marraige

Kentuckyguard.com

Unbridled Service

Little by Listen

Breakin' it down one tune at a time

The Funky Behavior

I blog to Express not to Impress

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

Tony Forcucci

A World Traveler's Photographic Travelogue

ANTHIDOTE

THE BEST OF LIFE AND THE WEB

Run5kaday's Blog

Daily distance running adrenaline!

My thoughts on a page.

Living, Laughing, Loving, Loathing.

