wisdomfromthesisterhood

The Sisterhood is a place to bring your cup of coffee to. Heck, bring the whole pot :). Sit down, relax, and fall in for a while. No divas or meanies allowed. It's about boy brain, kiddos, food, one crazy labrador, autism and a cat in recovery from a back tire incident. Oh the places you'll go :)

Reasons To Love Autism: Moment # 49

on September 27, 2012

I believe in fostering independence. It doesn’t matter what the disability or the diagnosis may be, independence matters.  It gives the child a sense of accomplishment, self worth and it allows them a sense of responsibility and belonging in the family.  It makes them part of a greater good.

Not everyone can do everything but everyone can do something important.

It was breakfast time in my house and my oldest boy asked to help with breakfast.  I had already muddled my way through TRYING to fix my grandmother’s biscuit recipe…the one that is not written down, the one with no directions, the one I am expected to “eye.”  It’s not an easy recipe so I practice.  And, because we are from the South, we eat grits for breakfast (butter and sugar if you’re curious because everyone eats them differently) too and those were just getting going along with the bacon.

My Boy:  “Can I help you make breakfast mom?”

Mom: “Sure.  How about grits duty?  You can stir.”

My Boy: “Great.”

A few minutes go by and I am setting the table, about six feet away from him, when I hear him use a stern voice at no one in particular because no one else is in the kitchen but he and I.  He knows better than to use that tone with me.  He is still standing by the stove.

Mom:  “Hey, you okay?”

My Boy: “No, I’m not okay.  Those grits spit at me.” And, after a minute of quiet, he asks, “Do I spit back?”

Mom:  I assured him, “We do NOT spit back at the food.  Ever. Not even when the grits are spitting at us.”

2 responses to “Reasons To Love Autism: Moment # 49

  1. Very funny! Whatever the challenges, thank goodness for these moments!

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Three Boys and a Mom

Life is crazy, messy and absolutely beautiful!

Relief Teaching Ideas

Sharing ideas to help make relief teaching fun, enjoyable, and meaningful.

The Moronta Journal

Messages from Mexico City...

a little bit about a lot of things

a positive outlook on life's little things

Outmanned

A collection of essays from Mary Widdicks: writer, humorist, novelist, and former psychologist who can't remember if she fed all her kids this morning.

An Autism Diary

A day in the life of David Hartley

wellfesto

hacking health, designing life

The Status Woe

Rising above mediocrity one mishap at a time

Squarehead Teachers

Free teacher stuff to get your elementary classroom all SQUARED away!

sarahmcsimmons.com

Living Life One Meal at a time!

myaspiewife

Tales & Reflections of an NT (Neuro-Typical) Husband of an Aspergirl, An NT's Perspective on Autism & Marraige

Kentuckyguard.com

Unbridled Service

Little by Listen

Breakin' it down one tune at a time

The Funky Behavior

I blog to Express not to Impress

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

Tony Forcucci

A World Traveler's Photographic Travelogue

ANTHIDOTE

ONLY THE GOOD STUFF

Run5kaday's Blog

Daily distance running adrenaline!

My thoughts on a page.

Living, Laughing, Loving, Loathing.

