wisdomfromthesisterhood

The Sisterhood is a place to bring your cup of coffee to. Heck, bring the whole pot :). Sit down, relax, and fall in for a while. No divas or meanies allowed. It's about boy brain, kiddos, food, one crazy labrador, autism and a cat in recovery from a back tire incident. Oh the places you'll go :)

Amish Pancakes

on October 2, 2012

Once upon a time, when my kids were younger, we were blessed to move to Ohio.  What a wonderful state.  I loved all four years we lived there and I met some of the best cooks of my life.  Women in Ohio cook.  Oh, they cook wonderfully and neighbors like Nadine never had to be asked twice to share a recipe.  Actually, she often didn’t even have to be asked at all.  She just gave.  Ohio was the last time I can remember borrowing a cup of sugar or a few eggs or a pinch of cardamom.   I miss that.  To this day, her recipes are still my go-to recipes.  I would digress right here into how wonderful people like Nadine are, as cooks and friends, but I am pretty lengthy in my writing already so I’ll hush myself.

Trying not to digress, let me just say, in addition to the blessing of good friends in Ohio, we were also fortunate enough to live near the Amish.  I loved being so close to the Amish.  Think what you want and say what you will but I adored them.  I’d move in if they’d let me.  Perhaps it is my quilt envy that draws me to them but, whatever it may be, I traveled their roads as often as I could and even into a few homes to check out quilts.  They never let me stay but were always very kind.  One particularly rainy spring I was fortunate enough to have Emma make me a quilt.  It was too rainy to start her garden so she had extra quilting time.  She wrote me a letter to let me know when it was finished.  I still have the letter.  I wrote her back to tell her when I’d be able to meet her at Litchfield Circle to pick it up.

Today, living in CA, my girl is uncharacteristically sick.  The straight A girl who hasn’t missed school since she was in the eighth grade is a snurgly-snotty-coughing mess.  I talked her into staying home and I’ll say it is the first time I have had to convince one of my children that they are too sick for school.  My boys would have jumped.  I sealed the deal by offering her our Amish Pancakes.  The same pancakes we have made since we found the recipe in Ohio.  I don’t always make homemade, I’m good with the boxed stuff most of the time, but today was not a day for boxed pancake mix.  Today was meant for more… as I work on nursing the girl back to her old self.  It’s a day for resting and giving an extra helping of love in the food.  When I asked her what was the one breakfast food  she wanted, she asked for THE pancakes.  So, today is a day for Amish Pancakes and for giving my girl the very best from our Ohio Amish days.  And, honestly, if I still lived down the road from Nadine, I would have pretended to be out of some eggs or something…just so I could walk across the road and sit in her kitchen for a few minutes and visit.

Here’s the recipe…just in case you have a special day or a sick child who needs a little more…like some good, old fashioned, Ohio Amish kind of devotion.  And, if you’re really lucky, you can walk across the street or next door and pretend like you are out of eggs or sugar or buttermilk…just for an excuse to visit your ‘Nadine’ or make a new friend.

Here’s the recipe :)………..it’s not complicated, just good.

1 1/4 cups flour

1 tsp sugar

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 egg

1 1/4 cups buttermilk

2 T butter or margarine

Mix together all ingredients very well.  Pour batter about 1/4 cup at a time into skillet (turned on med-high).  Flip once pancake is completely bubbly on top.  Makes sixteen 4″ pancakes.

3 responses to “Amish Pancakes

  1. Whew…pardon my editing errors. I think I have them all fixed now but if you happened to have ready it early…my apologies! My eyes are not as sharp as they once was, or…more honestly, I just don’t always see the errors the first three times I read through it! Ugghhh ;(.

  2. Hi. I’ve nominated you for The Liebster Award.

    See my post for more information:

    http://thebatamonblog.wordpress.com/2012/10/03/liebster-award/

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Three Boys and a Mom

Life is crazy, messy and absolutely beautiful!

Relief Teaching Ideas

Sharing ideas to help make relief teaching fun, enjoyable, and meaningful.

The Moronta Journal

Messages from Mexico City...

a little bit about a lot of things

a positive outlook on life's little things

Outmanned

A collection of essays from Mary Widdicks: writer, humorist, novelist, and former psychologist who can't remember if she fed all her kids this morning.

An Autism Diary

A day in the life of David Hartley

wellfesto

hacking health, designing life

The Status Woe

Rising above mediocrity one mishap at a time

Squarehead Teachers

Free teacher stuff to get your elementary classroom all SQUARED away!

sarahmcsimmons.com

Living Life One Meal at a time!

myaspiewife

Tales & Reflections of an NT (Neuro-Typical) Husband of an Aspergirl, An NT's Perspective on Autism & Marraige

Kentuckyguard.com

Unbridled Service

Little by Listen

Breakin' it down one tune at a time

The Funky Behavior

I blog to Express not to Impress

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

Tony Forcucci

A World Traveler's Photographic Travelogue

ANTHIDOTE

THE BEST OF LIFE AND THE WEB

Run5kaday's Blog

Daily distance running adrenaline!

My thoughts on a page.

Living, Laughing, Loving, Loathing.

