wisdomfromthesisterhood

The Sisterhood is a place to bring your cup of coffee to. Heck, bring the whole pot :). Sit down, relax, and fall in for a while. No divas or meanies allowed. It's about boy brain, kiddos, food, one crazy labrador, autism and a cat in recovery from a back tire incident. Oh the places you'll go :)

Autism: Sneaking A Peek Inside

on October 19, 2012

If you have ever wondered how autism translates into every day challenges…here is a good example of how the autistic  brain is simply wired a bit differently and how you have to approach “problems” with an open mind.  Never EVER assume you understand what is wrong without really thinking it through.  His brain just ticks differently.  Things are not always what they seem…

My boy: Mom, I think there’s a problem with my math homework!

Mom: What’s the problem?

My boy: I think I am supposed to use a worksheet. *he opens book and shows me a worksheet* (The worksheet is a generic double row of number lines)

Mom: One like this one here in your book?

My boy: Yeah, I think so.
Mom: Well, it’s right here with us, that’s good.  So what’s the problem?
My boy: I’m not sure where to start. I have to do problems 5 thru 8 and 11 thru 13.
Mom: So let’s start at the beginning with number 5.
My boy: Well, I know that. *boy uses disgusted voice*
Mom: Okay, then what is our problem?
My boy: Well, I don’t know.
Mom: Okay.
My boy: I think I’ll just do the best I can.  *boys voice deflates a bit*
Mom: I think that’s a good place to start, my friend.
*let the homework commence*
A few minutes later when I went back and asked if homework was going okay and if there were any problems…
He says, “It’s not a problem anymore. I just didn’t know which number line to use first because they don’t have numbers. You know 1, 2, 3 so you know to start where the #1 is?
Mom: Yep, that’s a very good point. You okay now?
My boy: Yeah, I just forgot I could number it myself.
And honestly, in a classroom setting, a child like mine may be so frustrated by not knowing where to begin that they may melt down because there is no “1” signaling HOW to start. And, a teacher who is not aware of the internal struggle, the want to achieve success, and how the anxieties can rise quickly may think it’s laziness or lack of understanding when really it’s just a lack of numbering. A child may waste an hour in a melt down, losing it in front of their peers and being labeled aggressive or uncooperative… all because they were unable to figure out where to start. Teachers HAVE to understand their students and how autism works!!  Understanding autism and the brain wiring is so key to finding success, acceptance and building self esteem!
2 responses to “Autism: Sneaking A Peek Inside

  1. Having a son with moderate ADHD, I can definitely relate to what you’ve written here. I’m sure my son is challenge in the classroom. If he’s not, it’s only because he saves it to challenge me with once he gets home. 😉

    • My son is nearly 13 and is getting better at regulating his frustrations and asking for help but when he was younger something as simple as glue and tissue paper could send us into a complete meltdown (under the desk and crying hysterically while throwing his shoes) because the frustration of trying to glue the tissue paper had deteriorated into a complete sense of failure. Those are things a teacher has catch quick and watch for before they ever spiral out of control. It’s really the simple things that can completely derail a kid!!

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Three Boys and a Mom

Life is crazy, messy and absolutely beautiful!

Relief Teaching Ideas

Sharing ideas to help make relief teaching fun, enjoyable, and meaningful.

The Moronta Journal

Messages from Mexico City...

a little bit about a lot of things

a positive outlook on life's little things

Outmanned

A collection of essays from Mary Widdicks: writer, humorist, novelist, and former psychologist who can't remember if she fed all her kids this morning.

An Autism Diary

A day in the life of David Hartley

wellfesto

hacking health, designing life

The Status Woe

Rising above mediocrity one mishap at a time

Squarehead Teachers

Free teacher stuff to get your elementary classroom all SQUARED away!

sarahmcsimmons.com

Living Life One Meal at a time!

myaspiewife

Tales & Reflections of an NT (Neuro-Typical) Husband of an Aspergirl, An NT's Perspective on Autism & Marraige

Kentuckyguard.com

Unbridled Service

Little by Listen

Breakin' it down one tune at a time

The Funky Behavior

I blog to Express not to Impress

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

Tony Forcucci

A World Traveler's Photographic Travelogue

ANTHIDOTE

THE BEST OF LIFE AND THE WEB

Run5kaday's Blog

Daily distance running adrenaline!

My thoughts on a page.

Living, Laughing, Loving, Loathing.

