wisdomfromthesisterhood

The Sisterhood is a place to bring your cup of coffee to. Heck, bring the whole pot :). Sit down, relax, and fall in for a while. No divas or meanies allowed. It's about boy brain, kiddos, food, one crazy labrador, autism and a cat in recovery from a back tire incident. Oh the places you'll go :)

Reasons To Love Autism: Hysterical Moment # 81

on October 24, 2012

I make it through my day by writing notes down on scraps of paper and today was another clean-up-the-hoards-of-scraps day at my house.  Here’s what I came across today.  I’d like to say he was in preschool when this happened but he wasn’t.  He was in fourth when this little event occurred.  His honesty is priceless.

Sensing my boy was having trouble starting his math homework, I tried to help him along.

Mom: Go ahead and write the six to start.

My boy: I can’t.

Mom: Sure you can, buddy.  You can write a six.  You’re smart, my friend.

My boy: No, I can’t.

Mom: Oh, I am so sure you can.

My boy: I can’t, Mom.

And, at this point thoughts about regression and seizures begin to crowd my mind and I wonder if something grave has happened that has stopped this fourth grade child from writing his numbers.  Has he gotten to the point of refusal because his fear of failure is so great?  Before I voiced these fears out loud, I decided to hold my breath and calmly ask him what might be causing his inability to write that six.

Mom: What is stopping you?

My boy:  My booger.  I don’t know where to put my booger and I can’t hold my pencil because that booger is in my hand.

Okay, I have to be honest.  At this point I was just trying to maintain my own composure so that I didn’t derail his homework any further.  I let out my breath and tried not to laugh out loud.

Mom: Perhaps in a tissue in the trash?

My boy: That’s a good idea, Mom.

Problem solved for both of us 🙂

2 responses to “Reasons To Love Autism: Hysterical Moment # 81

  1. athenivandx says:

    Hahaha this made me laugh! I needed that because I am seriously overloaded right now.
    I’m an autistic adult. Just been very overloaded lately. Ha ha this is great!!!!!!

    I probably had similar problems when I was his age. Im almost 29 now.

    I found your blog through the autism tag.

    Athena

    • Athena, thank you for finding me. I think that is awesome. At twenty nine, I will bet you and your mom have some stories to tell :). I am glad it made you laugh. Try not to let yourself get too overloaded :0)…life is never fun when we let ourselves get overwhelmed. Sometimes it is my son’s funny moments that remind me that I have let life run me over and I need to not take it too seriously. The funny stories I have are listed in the “Reasons to Love Autism” section so read away and I hope they make you laugh too :)!

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Three Boys and a Mom

Life is crazy, messy and absolutely beautiful!

Relief Teaching Ideas

Sharing ideas to help make relief teaching fun, enjoyable, and meaningful.

The Moronta Journal

Messages from Mexico City...

a little bit about a lot of things

a positive outlook on life's little things

Outmanned

A collection of essays from Mary Widdicks: writer, humorist, novelist, and former psychologist who can't remember if she fed all her kids this morning.

An Autism Diary

A day in the life of David Hartley

wellfesto

hacking health, designing life

The Status Woe

Rising above mediocrity one mishap at a time

Squarehead Teachers

Free teacher stuff to get your elementary classroom all SQUARED away!

sarahmcsimmons.com

Living Life One Meal at a time!

myaspiewife

Tales & Reflections of an NT (Neuro-Typical) Husband of an Aspergirl, An NT's Perspective on Autism & Marraige

Kentuckyguard.com

Unbridled Service

Little by Listen

Breakin' it down one tune at a time

The Funky Behavior

I blog to Express not to Impress

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

Tony Forcucci

A World Traveler's Photographic Travelogue

ANTHIDOTE

ONLY THE GOOD STUFF

Run5kaday's Blog

Daily distance running adrenaline!

My thoughts on a page.

Living, Laughing, Loving, Loathing.

