wisdomfromthesisterhood

The Sisterhood is a place to bring your cup of coffee to. Heck, bring the whole pot :). Sit down, relax, and fall in for a while. No divas or meanies allowed. It's about boy brain, kiddos, food, one crazy labrador, autism and a cat in recovery from a back tire incident. Oh the places you'll go :)

The Autism Sparkle

on October 24, 2012

I call this moment my “number one reason to love autism moment” because, truly, it was the first.  This was the first time I realized there is some crazy magical stuff inside of autism and just when you think you understand it all, it will knock the wind out of you.  Yeah, in the beginning, autism is every bit of 100% scary and overwhelming and your moments of hiding in the bathtub become more plentiful as you try to hide from the thing you don’t understand and the thing that is slowly taking over your life.  It is either a dark pit to fall into or to pull yourself out of.  In that very beginning, there is no light, there is no positive and, clearly, there is no magic or wonder to be found.  It is mostly black and sopping wet from the tears that seem to be continually clouding your eyes and racing down your face.  And no, in those early days, there is no way to stuff down those tears because there is no happy place to hold on to.  There is only  black and wet.

And then it happens.  That moment when the autism sparkle sneaks up in the middle of the wooden blocks you and your son are playing with and you don’t even see it coming.  You’re all hunkered down in your blackness and the slipperiness of your sobbing because, yes, you are in a continual pity party and you don’t notice it until the sparkle wallops you hard and leaves you stunned.

Autism can do that to grown ups.  It can reduce you to this pitiful mess until that moment when the spark and the sparkle rise right up into your face so that you see it for the first time.  That’s when you stand back up, crawl out of the black pit and realize there is so much more to see outside the blackness if you open your eyes.  In that sweet moment when your eyes do finally open you get that first beautiful glimpse of the crazy magic sparkle that tells you to hold on to your hat because autism is going to be a wild ride.  As I discovered, it is so much more than you understand and sometimes the ‘sign’ you’re looking for will start as one tiny spark.

That’s where my son and I were when it happened.  He was playing blocks on the floor in our Ohio living room as the snow fell outside and the fire roared a few feet from us.  It was one of those profound moments that etches itself forever into your memory so that the details feel like yesterday. I’d like to say we were playing together and enjoying a precious mom and son moment but, really, he was stacking the blocks and I was trying to be with him.  That is how autism rolls.  Socializing, pretend play and together play are just not our best skills.  Side by side play and tolerating the existence of someone else is the kind of play we were involved in.  That morning, he was tolerating my existence near his blocks in the living room with the fireplace when it happened.

I remember him stacking the blocks and grunting his sounds that morning.  He was, according to all the bench marks, non verbal.  He made sounds here and there and grunted a lot but words were simply a dream we still longed to hear. Grunting and stacking and then stacking and grunting.  It was a bit on the monotonous side but he was at least interacting with the blocks and, for us, that was a step in the right direction.  So I watched him stack and I listened to him grunt and I thought of the other things I could be doing.  I thought this was me being present but, as that sparkle stood up in front of my face, I realized I’d been anything but present on that floor.  I had mired myself into my own frustration and dreaming about all the things I did not have until that sparkle stood up in my face.   I was so busy getting lost in the blackness, I wasn’t seeing the forest for the trees.  I wasn’t seeing the autism right in front of me because of the autism that surrounded me down in the black pit.

I almost couldn’t see the autism sparkle because of the blackened and wet wall of autism that I was letting take over me.  Yes, he was stacking and grunting.  He was.  But, when I came out of my own black pity fog, when I really looked at him, I realized he was counting the blocks as he stacked them and he was saying the words, one to ten, as he stackedBecause he could not enunciate words well yet, his words were hard to catch and I had truly missed them.  Autism is sneaky and quiet that way.

He was counting to TEN!  If I listened closely, he was saying the words!  He was speaking in a whisper and his words were not enunciated perfectly but he was saying them.  He could not speak and yet he was counting to ten!

Sometimes if you blink you miss the good stuff and I almost missed it that day.  That day I got the wind knocked out of me and that moment was literally a breath stealer.  I let out an audible gasp as I reached for the phone to call my folks and tell them about the sparkle in my living room. That was the moment when I threw the black and the wet out into the snow and realized how much my own pity party was crowding my ability to see my son clearly.

That is the moment when the sparkle opened up another side of autism to me that I had never understood.   If you choose to let autism be a game-ender then …well, it will be.  Game over.  But, if you choose to open your eyes to the sparks that are there, you can take those sparks and build on those strengths until they sparkle right out loud.  The sparkle didn’t mean the autism game was over and we had won.  Not a chance.  It didn’t mean my boy was suddenly cured.  It meant there was hope and it meant that autism is a huge mystery and if you check out emotionally, you may miss the very moments that are the mile markers of your journey.  In every child the strengths are there but you have to look for them.  They won’t always show up as a prodigy.  Sometimes they just peek out for a second and you have to be vigilant in your observations.   I guarantee you there will be NO neon signs announcing skills.  I promise.

After that day, I decided autism might just be the most scary brilliant thing I’d ever come to know in my life.  There could be so much radiance sparkling just under the surface if you looked closely.  I vowed right then we would not seal our fate because of the lack of expectation others held for him  and I would never again hand him over to the dark side of autism that gave up before it ever got started.  Truthfully, just because you can’t immediately see the skills or the ability on the popular bench mark day…doesn’t mean it’s not there.  It might just still be forming, more slowly and more thoroughly because, sometimes, that’s how autism is.   It has its own calendar and sometimes it runs s-l-o-w-l-y.  From that day on, I was all about the sparkles and making sure I was open to every one that came our way because if I was open enough to see the autism sparkles, I could build up every weakness I found.  And from the bottom of my sparkling heart, I will tell you the greatest gift you can ever give your child is to keep your own eyes peeled because you never know what sort of surprise might happen your way and you have to be ready for it when it comes :).

*the picture used is not my own.  Please let me know if it’s yours so I can give credit :).

5 responses to “The Autism Sparkle

  1. athenivandx says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Welcome to the new world of PosAUTivity!

    There will still be many struggles. It will be hard. Do not let the darkness enter your mind again. Pledge to be there for your son’s each and every discovery and experience!

    I am autistic. It is QUITE full of sparkles, the autistic life. We have our own autistic version of the darkness you described. Sensory overload, meltdowns, confusion, frustration, etc. your son does too. He will need you to help him come out of it when he falls in. And he will fall in. Possibly many times. That’s more a function of environment than autism itself. Autism is not the enemy. The darkness you described was the enemy. Congratulations on winning this battle and pushing it back. Keep it up. I look forward to reading more. When the darkness comes calling, reach out to friends and family and autistic adults too! We want to help!

    Athena

    • You are absolutely right, Athena! It is so easy to get into the darkness and have a pity party but when you start to see the sparkles it is, well, almost magic. I don’t know that many people would call autism magic but, for me, and this journey with my son, it has been sparkly and magical. I am so thankful for his autism and for the way it helps me to look at everything with new eyes. He has been such a blessing! I am also thankful for you because I love the way you offer such valuable insight. I will indeed reach out to you and others because you have already been where I am standing!! :).

  2. athenivandx says:

    Reblogged this on Athena, Ivan, and The Integral and commented:
    This post put a smile on my face! It isn’t insincere. It doesn’t glorify “seeing the light” necessarily as

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Three Boys and a Mom

Life is crazy, messy and absolutely beautiful!

Relief Teaching Ideas

Sharing ideas to help make relief teaching fun, enjoyable, and meaningful.

The Moronta Journal

Messages from Mexico City...

a little bit about a lot of things

a positive outlook on life's little things

Outmanned

A collection of essays from Mary Widdicks: writer, humorist, novelist, and former psychologist who can't remember if she fed all her kids this morning.

An Autism Diary

A day in the life of David Hartley

wellfesto

hacking health, designing life

The Status Woe

Rising above mediocrity one mishap at a time

Squarehead Teachers

Free teacher stuff to get your elementary classroom all SQUARED away!

sarahmcsimmons.com

Living Life One Meal at a time!

myaspiewife

Tales & Reflections of an NT (Neuro-Typical) Husband of an Aspergirl, An NT's Perspective on Autism & Marraige

Kentuckyguard.com

Unbridled Service

Little by Listen

Breakin' it down one tune at a time

The Funky Behavior

I blog to Express not to Impress

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

Tony Forcucci

A World Traveler's Photographic Travelogue

ANTHIDOTE

ONLY THE GOOD STUFF

Run5kaday's Blog

Daily distance running adrenaline!

My thoughts on a page.

Living, Laughing, Loving, Loathing.

